Weaning Thomas: The Beginning

Thomas is now 23 weeks old. I started weaning him at 22 weeks old. He started on homemade carrot puree which he seemed to enjoy. I next tried him on homemade Swede puree. He liked this too. However, this was not filling him up. He was still drinking milk like it was going out of fashion and had started waking up again in the night too.

As he seemed hungrier in the morning, on the advice of a fellow Mum I tried him on some Plum Baby Apricot and Banana Oaty Porridge which he loved as you can see from the picture below. It also filled him up too and he went straight back to sleeping through the night. I will trying him on their Prune, Peach and Baby Rice Breakfast.

This week we have now added lunch into the equation and he loves that too. I am giving him some homemade purée but I am also using of the Ella’s Kitchen ones too. They are very easy to use especially when out and about as you can squeeze them straight out on to the spoon. Thomas seems to love them too! I try everything Thomas eats as I think it is important that he should only eat something that I would eat.

His milk consumption has reduced slightly but he is still having 5 or 6 bottles a day. I have no idea when milk consumption is supposed to drop with weaning but am hoping its soon as would like to just give him two big bottles a day, one in the morning and one in the evening.

If you have any advice or tips about weaning, please let me know 🙂





3 responses to “Weaning Thomas: The Beginning

  1. Jo, let him guide you on the bottles. My two were still on 4 bottles a day AND food way after this point! Baby porridge will fill him up, but the myth that you need to be on two bottles at 6 months is just that: a myth and a dangerous one, imho. Will catch up on Friday if you’re coming to coffee: if not, bug me about it as much as you like sweetie 🙂 *hugs*

  2. Hi Jo, glad to hear things are going well! At 12 months Constance is still having 4 big bottles a day as well as devouring any edible thing that passes her way (and some non edible!). As she’s such a titch they’ve said this is fine as long as it doesn’t affect her food intake and that she’ll start to give them up when she’s ready. As for weaning generally, I found it to the be the most stressful thing so far, as it seemed like such a responsibility! But I’m pleased to report that as it seems with all these things, going with your gut instinct seems to be the answer. Good luck – it is fun too! xx

Leave a Reply

